Join now

1001 Nights Tarab طرب Musical Event Part 3: Fairuz فيروز

Hosted by the Consul of the Global Arabic-Speaking Group
Event Cover Photo
Took place 2 months ago
Mon 21 Mar 19:00 - 20:30

Ready to Join?

**Time 19:00 Zurich, 18:00 London, 22:00 Dubai**
Protected content
To get the zoom link please press "join meeting".

In a series of Tarab events we will go back to the time of The Thousand and One Nights by hearing the musical art of Tarab. The third part is deteciated to the music of the iconic Lebanese singer Fairuz.

Fairuz (Arabic فيروز Fairūz, often Fairouz; born November 21, Protected content Jabal Alarz, Lebanon; born as نهاد حداد Nuhad Haddād) is a Lebanese singer and has also appeared in many films and plays. Her stage name Fairuz means turquoise. She is considered the "mother of the Lebanese nation". She moved to Beirut with her family in Protected content , where she grew up in Zokak-al-Blat.

Together with the brothers Mansour and 'Assy Rahbani (her later husband), she became the pioneer of a new music movement in Lebanon, which showed the Latin American influence.

Tarab is used in the Arabic culture to describe the emotional effect of music, but it is also associated with a traditional form of art-music. Tarab is an impression of charm. It is usually connected with vocal music in which the listener has wholly swathed in the sound and the meaning in a wide-ranging experiential sense and is just entirely carried away by Tarab singers.

See you all!