Join now

Stabat Mater by Antonio Vivaldi/Giovanni Battista Pergolesi

Hosted by the Consul of the Kraków Opera, Concerts & Performance Group
Event Cover Photo
Took place 2 months ago
Sat 10 Aug 20:00 - 21:00

Ready to Join?

Vivaldi's Stabat Mater only uses the first ten stanzas of the hymn. The music is keyed in F minor, and is generally slow and melancholy, with allegro only being used once in the Amen, and all the other movements not going faster than andante. Movements 4, 5, and 6 are identical to the first three musically.

It is split into nine movements as follows:

1. Stabat mater dolorosa
2. Cujus animam gementem
3. O quam tristis et afflicta
4. Quis est homo
5. Quis non posset contristari
6. Pro peccattis suae gentis
7. Eia mater, fons amoris
8. Fac ut ardeat cor meum
9. Amen

IMPORTANT: Protected content