Join now

Love, Compassion, Joy, Equanimity and the Jhanas

Hosted by the Consul of the Florence Enrichment & Inspiration Group
Event Cover Photo
Took place 1 month ago
Wed 09 Dec 18:00 - 19:30

Ready to Join?

For our next “Voices” gathering, Eduardo Giordanelli will continue to lead us in a workshop on “Love, Compassion, Joy, Equanimity - the Four Sublime Stages”

Gautama Siddharta, the Buddha, considered that humans should try to live most of their lives enjoying four special emotions (Love, Compassion, Joy and Equanimity) and
that this could be achieved by reaching some specific levels (Jhanas) of meditation. During his life anybody following his instructions was achieving the jhanas, but now only 3 in Protected content achieve them. What went wrong? Are we meditating as Gautama instructed us?

This is the research that the late Ajja Khema and Bhante Vimalaramsi began in the 80s. The research also involved the study of mystic experiences of Christian mystics such as Teresa d’Avila and Saint John of the Cross.

Today 70% of participants to retreats led by Ayya Khema students or by Bhante Vimalaramsi achieve at least the first jhana in less than ten days, as in Gautama's times. In this meeting we will explore their claim that this was the way the Buddha was teaching to cultivate mindfulness, convergence point with Christian mystics and try some of the meditations suggested by Ayya Khema and Bhante Vimalaramsi,

Join us on Tuesday, December 9th for an evening of conversation with Eduardo Giordanelli, life coach and mindfulness trainer who received training at the Center for Mindfulness at the University of Massachusetts.