Join now

Richard Wagner: Symphony in C major

Hosted by the Consul of the Tirana Classical and Jazz Music Group
Event Cover Photo
Took place 3 weeks 6 days ago
Sun 21 Mar 19:30 - 21:00

Ready to Join?

Dear friends,
going back from war to romance :-)

The Symphony in C major, WWV 29, is the only completed symphony of Richard Wagner. According to Wagner himself, in a letter to a friend, he composed the symphony in the brief space of six weeks at the beginning of the summer of Protected content . The composition shows the influence of the symphonies of Beethoven (especially nos. 3, 5 and 7) and also of the late symphonies of Mozart. The orchestration is in the style of Weber and Beethoven.

I. Sostenuto e maestoso — Allegro con brio
II. Andante ma non troppo, un poco maestoso
III. Allegro assai — Un poco meno allegro — Tempo I° — Meno allegro — Presto
IV. Allegro molto e vivace — Più allegro

Orchestra Sinfonica di Milano della RAI
Franco Caracciolo, conductor