Join now

Bedřich Smetana: Má vlast (My Fatherland)

Hosted by the Consul of the Tirana Classical and Jazz Music Group
Event Cover Photo
Took place 3 weeks 6 days ago
Sun 11 Apr 19:00 - 21:00

Ready to Join?

Má vlast (My Fatherland) is a set of six symphonic poems composed between Protected content Protected content the Czech composer Bedřich Smetana. While it is often presented as a single work in six movements, the six pieces were conceived as individual works. They had their own separate premieres between Protected content 1880; the premiere of the complete set took place on 5 November Protected content Žofín Palace, Prague, under Adolf Čech.
In these works Smetana combined the symphonic poem form pioneered by Franz Liszt with the ideals of nationalistic music which were current in the late nineteenth century. Each poem depicts some aspect of the countryside, history, or legends of Bohemia.
Since Protected content works have been performed to open the Prague Spring International Music Festival on 12 May, the anniversary of the death of their composer.

Bedřich Smetana: Má vlast - Prague Spring Protected content Concert
NDR Sinfonieorchester Hamburg,
Thomas Hengelbrock

Kde domov můj (Czech National Anthem)
1. Vyšehrad (The High Castle)
2. Vltava (The Moldau)
3. Šárka
4. Z českých luhů a hájů (From Bohemia's Woods and Fields)
5. Tábor
6. Blaník

Time: 11th April, 19:00 CET