Join now

Espoo City Theatre: Waiting For Earthquake & The Trial

Hosted by a member of the Helsinki Classical Music & Jazz Group
Event Cover Photo
Took place 2 months ago
Thu 05 Dec 19:00 - Sat 07 Dec 15:00

Ready to Join?

Finnish Chamber Opera & Espoo City Theatre presents:

This double-bill of powerful premieres takes on big questions and touches the audience. Both productions offer recognisable visions of the essential absurdity of our world. They are stories about the haphazardness of life, of disconnectedness, the uses and abuses of power, of sexuality, and love. We are led to explore our stores of compassion for the protagonists, struggling against senseless odds.

The Trial (Oikeusjuttu) is based on Franz Kafka’s famous novel and Waiting for Earthquake (I väntan på en jordbävning) on Zinaida Lindén’s Runeberg Prize–winning book. The two mini-operas are conducted by Finland’s likely next superstar conductor, Taavi Oramo, who was recently appointed Artist–in–Residence by Tapiola Sinfonietta and Artistic Director by Vocal Espoo.
Protected content