Join now

After 2 years in Argentina (Buenos Aires)

Hello there,
I was reading some new comments on old posts about jobs in Buenos Aires, and i still find some recommendations, which i tried and found not usefull.

I am an architect engineer, came from middle east, with about 8 years of experience in the field of architecture, interior design, also in event and project management. I am living in Buenos Aires since 2 years, learned spanish here till an advanced level, and nearly halfway a master degree in architecutre and urban filed(s), from an important national argetinian university.

What i want to say is about the difficulty finding a job here. I was and still do, using may be all websites of jobs searching, starting from linkedin, zonajobs, bumeran, bebee, trabajando, 3W jobs argentina, clarin, simply hired, computabajo, and others.

I recieve daily notifications about new openings matching my resume, sometimes its a full match like years of experience and field, some times the matching is only on secondary elements or for entry level for expample.

I was picky at first, but literary since a year os so; I do apply for all, still i rarely recieve any feedback. Had few interviews and replies, but in general this is not working. I searched in expat blogs such as internations, and others, but could not figuere it out.

I thought the language was the barrier, but after i gain it; it was clear its not. I thought the asking salary, then i started to let it always matching the average, sometimes a little bit lower. I even wrote to some "big-ones" offering the maximum flexibility like volunteering, part time or by project, to kill any diffficulty i may face, still all these things didnt work.

I honslty in somepoint started doubdting my level of education or experience, but it was clear its totally not after I compared my self to other profissional collueges I met/meet either in a project i engaged in, or collegues in my masters.