Join now
Log in Join

Housemates needed! (Dar es Salaam)

Us
We are Elaine (from Ireland) and Tendekayi (from Zimbabwe) a couple in our late 20s early 30s with our baby Tara (just a few months old).

The area
We live in Kigamboni a nice coastal area semi-rural in character yet only 5km plus a 5 minute ferry ride from Dar es Salaam city centre. We are 400m from a bus stop with buses going to the ferry and it is also a nice 5km cycle ride, and bajajis (tuc tucs) and taxis are also easily available. We are very close Protected content to several nice beach resorts.

Our house
We have a large spacious house which we built ourselves. It has four bedrooms - one for us, one a spare for visitors and we rent out two rooms to lodgers/housemates. We have two bathrooms (one for us off our room, one for the housemates and guests). We have a large living room and a large kitchen, a courtyard and a shaded breezy roof terrace and a large garden with outside banda and bbq.

The arrangements
The rent is Tsh 600,000 per month for the room including services below. It can be occupied by one or two people or a couple (we can change the bed arrangement accordingly). We have had several housemates since October Protected content have ended up being like family to us. The rent includes: the room (lockable and furnished, includes storage areas and a fan), use of the common areas and kitchen (fully furnished and equipped), gas for the cooker, electricity and use of backup solar for lights, phone/computer during power cuts, tap water, house and room cleaning services from Emily and Jane who work for us, household cleaning products, the services of our guard (Baraka). The rent does not include: clothes washing (obtainable from Jane for approx Tsh 20, Protected content the work and Tsh 5,000 for washing powder per person per month), use of our wireless internet (can be used for an extra Tsh 40,000 per person per month, but no video or big downloads as we pay per MB), drinking water and food. In the evenings we take turns cooking and whoever cooks cooks for everyone who is around and we eat together. We keep the kitchen clean and do washing up in the evening or when Emily and Jane are not around. We each do some food/water shopping and also contribute towards staples or a weekly big shop. Housemates are free to have guests for short periods, who can use the spare room if it is free or sleep on the roof terrace.

More information
Please email Protected content

Dar es Salaam Forum