Join now

Learning Arabic for free (or nearly free) (Dubai)

1. Arabic Alphabet
Front Range community college "Arabic Alphabet" on iTunes
Protected content
Unfortunately, there are very few books for learning Arabic script.
What is needed is some software that requires a writing tablet, and shows you where to start and end each letter. I haven't found that yet. So what I did was to find some children's books written for Arabic children that have tracings of the alphabet, INCLUDING DIRECTIONAL ARROWS to show you which way to form the characters. It took me about Protected content to learn to write the abjad in a crude way. I'm still learning to write words neatly and to recognize handwritten script.

2. Familiarization with listening to Arabic
Protected content $20 per month. I'm using it for Persian, but the Arabic course is very good. You will develop a familiarity with listening to Arabic. Use the course as often as possible.

3. Arabic pronunciation and intonation
rosetta stone software helps. It took me about one month to be able to pronounce certain vowels and consonants, because I didn't use the rosetta stone software and didn't have access to the Jane Wightwick/Mahmoud Gaafar materials at that time. I had to rely too much on native speakers... but most of them ( including Arabic instructors) are not used to breaking their words down into vowels and consonant sounds, so that wasted a lot of time. Or they are used to doing this to correct other native speakers, so they are unable to show you how to form _your_ vocal chords to make the unfamiliar sounds. Also realize that even sounds that seem familiar actually are pronounced quite differently: i.e. "ra", which is never pronounced like an English "r", but more like a German "r".

I have not found materials that teach intonation of words and sentences properly.

4. Free Online courses from Universities