Join now

Tourism, Foreign Investment-cause and effect (Guatemala City)

I am a veteran expat who has lived in Guatemala for the last thirteen years without having been back to the states. I have had many experiences in jobs and business. My most recent business was a well known restaurant in San Pedro la Laguna. I have seen much of what tourism can do to the cultures of Guatemala. It is a double-edged sword.True it does bring economy but also it introduces the habits (good and bad) of foreign culture to the local population.

Unfortunenately, I have recently experienced one of the major effects - Greed. I have rented my restaurant for 7 years from an indiginous Guatemalan. Always paying the rent on time, helping my landlord with his hotel, fixing things, making improvements. etc. Also assisting the local expat community and business owners. Along comes a foreigner with investments jn a local community and decides he wants my locale. Whereby he offers more rent for my place then I am currentlly paying to my landlord who thereby arranges with the ministerio publico to have me arrested for the possession of 4 marijuana plants that "someone" placed on the restaurant balcony, the previous night of my arrest.

Because I am a foreigner I was not allowed bail and was held in a prison for the three months of investigation. While I was there the first week my landlord, neighbors and even the police took advantage of my situation and robbed everything from my business - money, equipment, personal belongings... leaving me penniless. None of the expat community came to my aid and yet knowing what could happen to my business.

Eventually, after a very difficult time under horrendous conditions of the Guatemala prison, I was released with a fine of US$1000. which fortunately was in my savings account and unreacheable by the locals..

I have since then been struggling to get back on my feet but to no avail and after thirteen years I must now reconsider repatriating to the USA.