Join now

Migration studies research: call for interviews (Gurgaon)

Views

**If you are someone who was born and raised abroad and has moved to India to settle for one year or more and would like to share your migration experiences with us, please consider participating in this study**

Hi everyone! I hope your lives are treating you fabulously well (: Your presence and the work you are doing here is truly trailblazing an emergent migratory trend. Consider yourselves trendsetters! I'm posting a call for interviews here for my professor, Fulbright-Nehru Scholar, Melissa Myambo's research project:

Please read the description below and contact me ( Protected content ) or Melissa if you would like to participate.

Here is the call for interviews sent via my professor:
"My name is Melissa Myambo. I have a PhD from New York University and am currently a Fulbright-Nehru scholar affiliated with the Centre for the Study of Developing Societies in Delhi. I am conducting research on contemporary patterns of migration, in particular on people who are leaving industrialized countries (Germany, Sweden, Canada etc.) to move to China, India and South Africa.

I have recently completed the South African phase of the research thanks to a Vice-Chancellor’s postdoctoral fellowship at University of Cape Town and a Mellon postdoctoral fellowship at University of California, Los Angeles. I am now beginning the India phase of research.

I am interested in why people are choosing to migrate to India post Protected content . I am looking in particular at the motivations and experiences of highly-skilled migrants from industrialized countries who have been here at least a year or plan to spend a year or more here.

There is hardly any existing research on this topic so:
If you consider yourself to be highly-skilled (e.g. you have a university degree or some special skills in a certain area)
and