Join now

Malaysian Property Market 3 | Buying vs Investing! (Kuala Lumpur)

There must be a willing seller and a willing buyer! That's an economy.
Buyers don't create the market, they just act on the market.
Sellers don't create the market, they just act on the market.
That's the economy.

Developers are market markers and being a passive developer myself, I know value creation. I also know how much this economy is undervalued. Today, I am project managing an international school, my second such project and we have a plan to roll out another 23 over 5 years. Crazy isn't it? Well it isn't, coz I see an opportunity, and I know how to plug it. Cost of Education in this country is astronomical in terms of purchase power parity. With more schools, come more jobs, come more talent, come more competition, come more affordable, reflects our consumer price index and frankly, how we build a nation with good infrastructure. So maybe by the time I have kids and they grow up, I know I can ensure the affordability to the same standard of pricing vs quality that I enjoyed during my time. This is capacity building.

Now put agents and developers out the way, bubbles do appear and yes slime does hit the fan. However, one thing for certain, you always need to take a view on how you wish to profit. Profit can be in many forms, and the profit to me is real dollars and sense in appreciation of today's and tomorrow's capital inflation. You find your own definition and then go to market to see how its realised. But we don't go tell other people they are wrong la... other people too have their own requirements, definition and risk appetite. The man on the street is not bodoh, every man on the street has his different issues and knows how to play his money to his best and limit. Don't you?