Join now

Want to Move to KL (Kuala Lumpur)

Hi all,

I'm new to this but found this website very helpful.
I am a Canadian who married a Malaysian-Chinese who is originally from KL. We've been married for almost 5 years now and she is currently a Permanent Resident of Canada living with me in Vancouver and just recently applied for Canadian citizenship early this year. The problem I have is that she wants to move back to KL since all her family is there. I have no problem with that as I've been there every year for Chinese New Year holiday and love her family but I don't know what the best way to do it is. I am a senior web developer with 8 years experience in my field. We are currently saving money in hopes of eventually migrating to KL. Hopefully the salary I earn there will be enough for us to live comfortably.

Like I mentioned, I'm not sure what the best way to accomplish this is.
Since she is currently a Malaysian, would it be better if we try to migrate there now? I am a Canadian so I assume I'll need to get a company to sponsor me so I can get a working visa to stay there.

On the other hand, I wanted my wife to get her Canadian citizenship so in the case that things don't work out in KL then she can always come back to Canada with me. Currently she is just a permanent resident so once that expires in a year, she won't be able to come back unless we go through the long process of getting another visa and obviously we don't want to be apart. Also we can maybe try Singapore if things don't work out.