Join now

Apartment Rental & Life in Malta 2014

Hi Internations Community!

I am a Hungarian expat. I just recently moved to Malta, so I thought I can help my fellow expats with a few advises regarding to life and especially apartment rental. I work as a property consultant for one of the best agencies on the island. However, I think my personal experience is more helpful at this point.

First of all, I left England because of the weather, and because it was way too expensive - even-though I worked as a Cinema Manager. There were not many other countries with legal right to work and live other than Malta which is a bilingual, English speaking country. I mean, I wanted to find a sunny country where people speak English, and I can make enough of an honest job to have the possibility for a happy life. So the decision of moving here was easy, as I researched Malta well enough, and more or less I have found exactly what I expected.
The country is not only one of the safest, but the people are genuinely relaxed and happy. The amount of sunshine which this country gets is truly the best in Europe. Ok, there are not many sandy beaches, but you can get used to it, as the water is still warm in November, and you don't have to worry about sharks etc.

Finding a job is not difficult, but it is better if you keep an open mind from the start. Do your research, and if you can visit before you move here, as I did, you will know what you find here. There are all types of available jobs, and if you work, you can make a living. For sure, your money will take you further than it does in England.