Join now

Searching job/volunteering/couchsurfing (Marrakech)

Views

Dear expat/internations community of Marrakech,

I'm a new member here, no expat (at least not yet ;) ) but a 26 year old Austrian student from and based in Vienna with a fascination of the Moroccan culture.

I'm thinking about travelling to Marrakech in my university holidays from mid December to first week of January. Why ? 1) I'm free to travel in that time due to christmas holidays. 2) I'd like to experience once spending our Christmas and New Years Eve abroad and getting a bit of an insight how expatriate and tourists spend Christmas and New Years Eve in Morocco, and also to experience Morocco during winter. 3) This semester I started a course of Modern Standard Arabic and it would be good for me if I can improve my (intermediate) French and train a bit my Arabic.

I'm currently studying Cultural and Social Anthropology (previous name: Ethnology) with a regional emphasis on Northern Africa and the Near/Middle East, but I also already have a Masters degree in (Ethno-)Musicology. Some semesters ago I made an Erasmus study exchange in Paris, studying French language, Anthropology and Art at Université Paris 8. My English language skills are fluent, French intermediate and German my mother language.

I'd like to know from you if you offer or know any offers for a short job in Marrakech from mid december to first week of january, any volunteering possibility (by volunteering I understand/ prefer an exchange of me offering some hours a day working in exchange to a free accomodation) or couchsurfing possibility ? Due to being a full time student I can't work fulltime and so I don't have a lot of money, already the flights to Morocco would be expensive for me, so if don't work in Marrakech, I probably could not afford paying in addition for an accomodation.