Join now

Montreal neighbourhood advice? (Sorry so wordy) (Montréal)

Views

Hi all, I'm currently a DC area resident and we are moving to Montreal next year. I've been looking for good resources to get a feel for what each of the Montreal neighborhoods are like, but so far all I've found are videos from some Montreal government website, most of which are in French. (I don't speak French yet.) I'm also having a hard time finding a website that compares somewhat to apartments.com where I could get a feel for what apartments in different neighbourhoods feature, floor plans, etc.

Does anyone have advice, recommendations, or resources on what each of the neighborhoods in and near Montreal are like, as far as atmosphere, walkability, public transport commute, type of people who typically live in that neighbourhood, etc?

We are a younger couples without kids, but no so young that we need an active bar scene, or want the noise accompanying it. We currently live in Arlington, (Pentagon City/Crystal City area, just outside DC's downtown if you're familiar).

What we like about where we live now:
- We are only a few blocks from the metro and within Protected content of almost everywhere of interest, be it downtown or further out, and have lots of amenities and entertainment within a walk or short drive.
- it is VERY dog friendly - we have met so many people at dog parks and events, and I work with dogs for a living. Our own apartment has a huge enclosed off-leash dog park (having a good place within walking distance for our dog to run and play is extremely important).
- We have grocery stores, pharmacies, indoor malls, pedestrian retail areas, and other shopping, lots of restaurants and such, all within either walking distance, a short drive, or metro. The more boutique shopping and arts are not walking distance, and while some more of that would be nice, as long as we're close by it's fine.