Join now

Tips for the aspiring socialite (Mumbai)

Views

Hey,
So I am new to Mumbai, spent about a month here so far, going to be here for a little while more. I tried going out 3 nights, and was amused to notice quite a few faux pas. So decided to write an article about it. I am sure you can think of people who can use these tips. :)

And this is more for light hearted reading than anything else:

1) Shower : No, your strong perfume (or what ever that foul smelling liquid you purchased for a $1.50, is called) is not going to mask body odor. It is instead going to merge with it, and act like a flashing siren - like when a LAPD squad car is driving through Compton. It is going to announce your presence from 2 miles away. Also, for guys, learn not to use your mom's solitary bottle of flowery perfume that a cousin got for her a decade ago on a trip abroad.

2) When I was a kid, I was fascinated by barn animals. Having always lived in cities, it was an awesome experience for me to visit a farm, touch the animals, etc. Till one day, I visited a barn in the hot summer, .... It was hot, a closed environment without much fresh air influx... ergo the natural perfume of the residents permeated the space. I refused to drink milk for a month after that...

Very very similar to a night club in a 'Human Resource Rich' Nation... isn't it?

So Use a deodorant: A deodorant and a perfume are NOT mutually exclusive. Its not One or the Other. A Deoderant is a MUST, whereas a man may choose to use just an after shave instead of a perfume.

3) Brush your teeth before going for a night out. Bad breath is HORRIBLE! Invest in some gum, or maybe a bottle of breath freshening liquid or Listerine strips and take them along where ever you go.

4) BELUGA SYNDROME!

I went recently to buy a salicylic acid based acne face wash - like Neutrogena or hopefully something cheaper. Salicylic acid is salicylic acid, be it in neutrogena or the local CVS store brand.