Join now

Support for master thesis about German-Canadians (Ottawa)

(For information in German see below)

Support for master thesis about German-Canadians

My name is Anke and I am a 24 year old graduate studying International Migration and Ethnic Relations at Malmö University, Sweden. Originally I come from Wesel, a small town in Germany, situated around 60 km north of Cologne.

I am currently in the final year of my studies and thus am working on my master thesis which explores the topic of the migration experiences of German-Canadians. More specifically I am interested in the role which German language, culture and tradition play in your life in Canada. To which extend ties to your country and/or region of origin are maintained, and the ways in which you would define home and belonging.

A travel grant from GKS (Gesellschaft für Kanada-Studien = association for Canadian studies in Germany) enables me to stay in Ottawa for two months, from the beginning of March, to the end of April Protected content . In preparation for my visit, I contacted Pastor Friedrich Demke, Dr. Helmut Zobl, and Dieter Kiesewalter, to obtain a first-hand insight into the German-speaking community in Ottawa. I am now looking forward to get to know more about life among the German-Canadian community in Ottawa and hopefully to get to know some of you on a personal basis.

During my time in Ottawa, I would be more than happy to talk to you in person and learn more about your personal experiences with Canada, as well as the significance of German culture, language and traditions in your life.
All personal data will of course be kept anonymous, information obtained during these conversations will be dealt with in a confidential way, and will only be used in the context of my research.