Join now

New Zealand Expatriates in Singapore

Views

Expatriate Research

I am a Masters of Business student at Otago University, New Zealand. As part of the requirements for the Masters of Business I need to complete research for my thesis.

The aim of my research is to investigate how the levels of pre-departure preparation and continued organisational support of New Zealand expatriates affect the perceived success of their assignments in Singapore. As New Zealand companies expand and gloabalise into international markets, it becomes increasingly important that the face of these companies, who are often New Zealand expatriates, are successful within their roles.

I am using Singapore as the target destination because it has a long established and close relationship to New Zealand. It is a growing market and provides a gateway for New Zealand businesses to access the rest of the world, making it an invaluable market to maintain strong relationships and trade.

To obtain the data for this research I am seeking participants to participate in a face-to-face interview followed by a 30 minute on-line questionnaire. Employees sought for participation will have been in their current Singapore posting for a period of more than six months, but no longer than five years. Participants will have relocated internationally to take up their assignment and are also, required to be engaged in full-time employment for a private sector organisation. The Otago University Ethics Committee has approved the research and data questions. All data collected will be confidential and anonymous and companies will not be identified.