Join now

Look for telecom opps or change carreer..? (Toronto)

Dear Members,

I am seeking advises here as I need to make serious decisions about my carreer soon. I have arrived to Toronto in December. I am an open work permit holder through my wife. In Hungary I was a telecommunication expert: as a SIM card and terminal product manager I was responsible for handset portfolio selecting, planning, forecasting, plus I had overall responsibility for every SIM card related issues at Vodafone. I had more than 13 years of telco experience, excellent references and a Master's Degree, if this makes sense at all here...

I have started to look for opportunities on my very first day in Canada and I sent my resume to several offers. I found positions from managerial level to retail sales - finally I had only one job interview until now for a retail sales associate position, without success. The shop manager said that I am overqualified and I should sign up for a job to the headquarter - OK, but from the HQ they do not even answer to me.

I have already tried to send messages on LinkedIn for HR people, they have checked my profile, and write back something like: please check open positions on our webpage and sign up there. I assume that the lack of Canadian work experience can be the problem, but honestly, although I have signed up for volunterial work, I think that in a fast changing technology enviroment, my knowledge will not be up-to-date by the time I could find a job. In the meantime I am also attending on special courses also (language, etc.), but I would prefer work...