Join now


Hosted by the Consul of the Miami Argentinians and Friends Group
Event Cover Photo
Took place 2 months ago
Sat 22 Sep 19:00 - 22:00

Ready to Join?

Get a good look at all the Protected content in their debut orchestra concert of the season! Florence Price shattered barriers as the first African-American woman to have a symphony performed by a major orchestra. Her Third Symphony, commissioned during the Great Depression, is a splendid blend of influences blooming from her Southern roots. Jean Sibelius, Finland’s national treasure, crafted a “confession of the soul” in his extremely popular Second Symphony, a dynamic balance of majesty and mystery. Joshua Weilerstein makes his NWS debut as 42 fresh faces (over half the orchestra!) converge with seasoned veterans to bring you the “new” New World Symphony.

Florence Price
( Protected content )
Approx. Duration: 28 minutes

Symphony No. 3 in C minor Protected content
Andante ma non troppo
Juba: Allegro
Scherzo: Finale


Jean Sibelius
( Protected content )
Approx. Duration: 43 minutes

Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. Protected content
Andante, ma rubato
Finale: Allegro moderato

Free event, but ticket is required and they charge a handling fee of $8.00 (for entire order, up to 4 tickets).

Click here to get your ticket(s):Protected content
Hope to see you all there!