Join now

Planning a move to Lyon..much advice needed!

I am Greek, husband is French, we have been in England for over 15 years and we have two children under 4, we are looking to "temporarily" leave England and live in France for a year to see if we like it...not sure how Brexit influences this whole travel plan we have going on....just to clarify I am a translator working online (spanish, french, greek to english) and I intend to possibly teach privately if possible whilst in Lyon and my husband works offshore so we are not looking for local jobs. So here are some of my questions but ANY advice, information, pointers would be much appreciated in terms of what we should consider for planning our move.

1. BUDGET...we currently have a mortgage of Protected content month and we live in a nice suburban family safe area in a 3 bedroom house with large garden in Leicester. What is realistic to pay on a monthly rental somewhere practical and nice enough to enjoy family life in, near or even within 30 minutes drive from Lyon? We ideally did not want to spend more than Protected content a month on rent for a 3 bedroom apartment or house and we need to be close to amenities and schools. What do we like? like everyone, a mix of all worlds! Good access to the city, liveliness, safety, shops, markets and access to nice french schools (we can't afford private education)