Join now

Professional photographer looking for volunteers.. (Neuchatel Lake)

Views

Good morning all.

I'm not sure that I have posted this in the correct forum (maybe a mod could move it if needs be) but here goes:

I am a professional photographer who has recently permanently relocated from Twickenham, England to Neuchâtel. I am currently searching for commercial clients to work with, but in the meantime I am considering starting a personal project. The reasons for doing this are as follows:

1. I would like to be proactive about meeting people and integrate into life in Switzerland

2. Personal projects allow creatives to push themselves outside of the constraints of a commercial brief and often realise some exceptional work

3. I love what I do, and if I have downtime, as I do at the moment, I can't think of anything better than shooting, meeting people and hopefully creating a body of work that will be published

The working title of the project is ExPats, although more specifically I am looking to work with any immigrants that have relocated to Switzerland. The concept behind the project is to create a series of environmental portraits that attempt to tell a 'day in the life' story of the typical (and atypical) foreigner living in Switzerland. These could be single shots or a series showing the subject at work or at play, but I want to try and convey what it means to be a stranger in a strange land. Why did you move here, what are the upsides, what are the challenges, what do you miss, what are your discoveries.

At this preliminary stage, all I am looking for is people that are interested in being photographed (free of charge obviously) at a location and time to suit them. You will receive a copy of the final image/s and a copy of any subsequently published materials (if it gets that far) free of charge.

What kind of people am I looking for and why should you volunteer?