Join now

Case Histories - Book Club April 2022

Hosted by the Consul of the Global Book Club Group
Event Cover Photo
Took place 1 month ago
Sun 10 Apr 13:00 - 15:00

Ready to Join?

Case Histories by Kate Atkinson

The first book in Kate Atkinson's Jackson Brodie Mysteries series, called ‘the best mystery of the decade’ by Stephen King, finds private investigator Jackson Brodie following three seemingly unconnected cases. This is a different type of detective novel and Jackson serves mainly to link up the separate story lines, often in the smallest and unexpected ways.

Employing unique perspectives on their lives and the lives of their friends and family, the characters are flawed and complex, exposing their thoughts, feelings and emotions with wit and sarcasm, and sometimes with a self-deprecating sense of humour.

Kate Atkinson observes the characters in tragic circumstances - bad things happen to good people - and follows them in finding ways to emerge from their heart-breaking stories. In such, the novel reflects on the perpetual question of how each of us survives in a world that can be so cruel.