Join now

Concert- Mannes Sounds: Imagining Faust

Hosted by the Consul of the New York 45+ Group
Event Cover Photo
Took place 1 month ago
Thu 13 Apr 19:30 - 21:30

Ready to Join?

Protected content

Curated and directed by Matthew Gregory, this event features theatrical excerpts and music. The musical selection, inspired by the legend of Faust includes Liszt: Mephisto Waltz for piano (based on Nikolaus Lenau’s scene from Faust); Gounod/Liszt: Waltz from the Opera Faust for piano; Sarasate: Nouvelle Fantasie sur Faust de Gounod for violin and piano; Keaton Hoy:” The Tragedy of Marguerite”for B flat clarinet, violin, cello and piano; Schubert: “Gretchen am Spinnrade”; and the Final Scene from Gounod’s Faust