Join now

Online Euguene Henri Paul Gaugin - France to French Polynesia

Hosted by the Consul of the Dublin Culturally Active People Group
Event Cover Photo
Took place 1 month ago
Sun 20 Dec 07:30 - 09:30

Ready to Join?

In Protected content , on the island of Hiva Oa in the Marquesas, a syphilitic and alcoholic Frenchman called Paul Gauguin died of a heart attack. At that point nobody realised the incredible impact Gauguin's work was to have on modern art. Art critic and broadcaster Waldemar Januszczak wrote and directed this examination of a man who was not only a great painter but sculptor, wood carver, musician, print maker, journalist and ceramicist. As well as telling the remarkable story of Gauguin's life, Januszczak also celebrates Gauguin's achievements and examines the various accusations of misconduct, familial neglect and racism that are frequently made against him. The film contains many of Gauguin's masterpieces and includes paintings put on show at the Hermitage in St Petersburg which haven't been seen in public since their disappearance during World War II. From France, Peru, Panama, Martinique, Tahiti possibly a few more.

Perspective is YouTube's home for the arts. Come here to get your fill of great music, theatre, art and much, much more!

From Gauguin: The Full Story
Protected content
2 hr You tube
Internations Zoom discussion and debate on Paul Gaugin on the following Time zone
Dublin GMT Lisbon 9.30 am
Paris, Berlin, Vienna 10.30 am
Lima 4.30 am
Tokyo 6.30 pm