Join now

Building your own home in Estonia (Tallinn)

When I entered Estonia in Protected content , I had no idea that eleven years later I still would live there, would been married and would have built a house by myself located in the most beautiful park in Estonia.

As a young engineer, my dream was to build my own house. In The Netherlands, it’s not so much the habit, as to find a nice private building plot is like finding a needle in a haystack. I learned that here in Estonia many private building plots were available, in nice area’s and against good prices.

It was in the summer of Protected content I decided to buy a nice plot with building rights somewhere in Lahemaa Park. Not immediate with the intention to build a house but just as an investment. One year later, I had my summer holidays on the island Saaremaa. My wife and I rented a typical little Estonian house. It was the fantastic feeling there that triggered me to say “Yes”, now I am going to build my own house.

Easy to say but how to start? After a few informal discussions with local architects about the costs for making the architectural drawings (EUR Protected content EUR Protected content , I decided to do as much as possible by myself. As a retired telecom manager I had all the time of the world to think in-depth how to start the building process.

In January Protected content obtained a CAD-CAM like program named Revit Structure. After four months study how to use the program, I was able to start with the design of my house. In the whole building process, this was the most time consuming and at the same time the most interesting part. In fact I sat on the chair of both the architect and constructor.