Join now

Telecom/Wireless jobs in HK/China (Hong Kong)

Hi, everyone. I'm a new member here. I wanted to reach out to the Internations HK community, just in case I am missing something; either that or maybe someone can provide a different angle of approach. It's always good to get opinions from others! Here's my situation...

I'm an electronics engineer in wireless/mobile telecoms on the technical side, with eight years of experience. My background covers both the core network/switch, as well as Network Optimization and location-based services. I'm a USA citizen and speak English and Italian. I am well traveled, especially in Asia. Just so you know, I have not had that 'first' job in Asia yet and all of my work is from USA jobs.

I'm looking for work in Hong Kong, although I realize that in my field, the work will probably more likely be in China/Taiwan/Singapore. I am listed at most of the usual big recruitment websites in Asia (especially China/Malaysia/Hong Kong/Singapore/Taiwan) and also have attended various networking events here in Hong Kong. I have been actively searching for work for over three months (since early February). I am listed with the usual big three recruiters here in HK (they are not much help and very distant, as they get calls from people like me all the time) and I do have one very good recruiter that I am in touch with regularly.

Problem: With the exception of a single interview in Singapore in March, I am not getting ANY emails/calls from any interested parties (Hong Kong or any country for that matter). Yes, I know it takes a long time to find anything in Hong Kong, but to not get ANY response from any country?? Is there something that I am missing?

Here's what I am doing to try to improve my skillset.
1. I'm actively taking Mandarin language lessons, since it will be important here in Asia, especially when traveling for business.